Hamburg Designated a Preserve America Community

Zoie Clift


First Lady Michelle Obama has
announced 15 new Preserve America Communities. And one of them is Hamburg in
Ashley County! This addition brings the total to 25 communities in Arkansas and
858 around the country.

The Preserve America designation
recognizes Hamburg’s efforts to preserve and promote local heritage. Highlights
include the Hamburg Commercial Historic District and several individually
structures listed on the National Register for Historic Places. In recent
years, volunteers have restored the Watson House for use at the Ashley County

Representatives of Ashley
County and the Ashley County Museum worked with the Historic Preservation
Alliance of Arkansas to develop a preservation plan, which the Hamburg City
Council adopted in October.

Preserve America Community program recognizes a select group of communities
that use their heritage resources to share the benefits of historic
preservation with residents and visitors. The program began in 2003 and
Preserve America communities are now located in all 50 states and many overseas
U.S. territories. Preserve America is administered by the ACHP with assistance
from the U.S. Department of the Interior. For more information check out
Congratulations to Hamburg! 

Posted in Travel Arkansas

Add a Comment