Lower White River Museum State Park Hosts “House of Light” Exhibit Opening

preller1Join historian/curator Chris Engholm and Gayne Preller Schmidt, granddaughter of Hugo and Gayne Preller, for the opening of the “Hugo and Gayne Preller’s House of Light” traveling exhibit at the Lower White River Museum State Park in Des Arc. The museum is hosting an exhibit opening on Thursday, June 5, from 4:30-6 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

From 1895 to 1950, Arthur and Gayne Preller and their family plied thepreller2 Mississippi and White River in their “floating studio,” creating one of the earliest and largest bodies of Delta photography in Arkansas history, including portraiture of sharecroppers and local citizens of the region. The exhibition tells the story preller3of the Prellers and showcases their works. Also included in the exhibit is a 4-foot model of their “floating studio.”

For more information on the exhibition opening or on the exhibit, contact the Lower White River Museum State Park at 870-256-3711. The museum is located at 2009 Main St. in Des Arc. The project was funded in part by the Arkansas Humanities Council and the National Endowment for the Humanities through a grant received by the  Old Independence Regional Museum in Batesville.

 

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Arkansas Delta, Family, Historic, History and Heritage, Museums, State Park, Travel Arkansas, Visual Arts

Add a Comment

*

Related City

The exact year Des Arc was founded is unknown, though the town is one of the oldest river ports in Arkansas. The earliest settler of record is Frenchman Francie Francure, who received a Spanish grant for land near the mouth of the Little Red River. In establishing the land's title, he declared he ...

Read More