According to the Arkansas Game& Fish Commission, while the law primarily affects teen boaters, other age groups are covered as well. “This is the first time the boating education law applies to someone besides the operator,” said Bob Cushing, AGFC boating education coordinator. Boat operators between 12 and 15 years of age may operate a personal watercraft only when accompanied by an individual at least 18 years old who was born before 1986 or has a valid boating education certificate. Additionally, the accompanying person must be in position to take immediate control of the vessel.”
By law, all Arkansas boat operators born after Jan. 1, 1986 must complete an approved AGFC boating education course. A course may be completed in any of the following ways: in an instructor-led course free of charge, online for $15, or, for a limited time, via a home study course which includes a DVD or video available for purchase online. For more information about boating courses, visit www.agfc.com/boating or call 877-493-6424.