The world's largest Budweiser can. A huge Humpty Dumpty keeping a watchful eye over downtown Eureka Springs. The world's only diamond mine where you can dig for gems and keep what you find. Luxury accommodations in a cave...or tree house. A one-of-a-kind historic carousel. There are just a few of the Arkansas Originals you'll find as you travel The Natural State. This trail makes for one of the most unusual treks you can take in Arkansas.
Opened in the 1920s originally as a general store now serves Southern-style catfish fillets and steaks, frog legs, fried and boiled shrimp, barbecue ribs, grilled and fried chicken, Alaskan crab, homemade gumbo, smoked sausage links, chicken and dumplings, salad bar, stuffed crab, hush puppies. GROUPS: Will open on a Sunday through Wednesday for a group of 60 or more, or will cater to any site; menu changes seasonally because they use the fresh catches of the day.
Luxury lodging built inside an Ozark cave; Great Hall can host a wedding, dance, or reunion; secluded upper level sitting room, game room and on-site heliport; fully furnished kitchen; some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs. The cave was “constructed” in 1984 by John Hays, founder of Celestial Seasonings Tea Company, as a preparation for what he believed was looming on the horizon – a holocaust.
The longest pedestrian/bicycle bridge built specifically for pedestrians and bicyclists and the second longest in the United States, the over $9 million project connects 14 miles of trails on the Little Rock and North Little Rock sides of the Arkansas River. It is 14-feet wide, rises nearly seven stories above the river. Named by the Society of American Travel Writers as one of the "Top 10 Bridge Travel Sites" in the U.S. and Canada in 2012.
Housed in the renovated historic lion house at the Little Rock Zoo. Built in 1933, this Works Progress Administration all-rock building features a stone fireplace, multi-level dining, and a wide variety of food for kids and adults alike. Cafe Africa is also available for private party rental.
Seven-story statue of Christ overlooks the Ozarks and Eureka Springs; lighted for night viewing; can be seen for miles; created by Emmett Sullivan, one of the sculptors of Mount Rushmore
Murfreesboro, Arkansas is home to the world’s only diamond-bearing site open to public, where you can prospect in the dirt for and keep gems you find. Diamond Discovery Center provides people with a helpful introduction to diamond searching, equipment rentals, exhibit gallery. Diamond Springs Water Park is another great attraction at the park and makes a perfect place to cool off. The park also offers camping, picnic sites, trails, a wildlife observation blind and a cool gift shop. Make plans to visit this exciting place to enjoy the outdoors, learn about geology and search the soil for valuable minerals.
Located on Crowley's Ridge, an unusual land formation that is one of only two of its type in the world. The ridge, comprised of wind-blown loess, is the only elevation is the otherwise flat lands of the eastern Arkansas Delta. Native log and stone cabins and group lodging facility with kitchen/dining hall constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the1930s; campsites, snack bar, picnic area, trails, pavilions, baseball field, fishing lake, swimming lake; boat, kayak and pedal boat rentals; interpretive programs.
Year-round recreation; cabins overlooking the river across from Crater of Diamonds State Park; hot tub; air-conditioned and heated teepees with satellite television; free kayaking, paddleboat, fishing, gem hunt for kids
Wide variety of menu items including seafood; all-you-can-eat buffet featuring catfish, crawfish, ribs, chicken, seafood; open Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights only; first Sunday of the month for lunch; housed in a riverboat-designed building
The only known structure in the world to use bauxite aluminum ore as a building material. It was built in 1896 for Dr. Dewel Gann, Sr.; now houses memorabilia, photographs, original office furniture and artifacts; exhibits include Niloak pottery, originally developed in Benton; Quapaw and Caddo Indian artifacts, an area devoted to the aluminum era of Saline County, the Civil War, World War I and World War II.
Earl Harris, Sr., was local farmer and beer distributor who loved Budweiser so much, he painted one of his silos to look like a giant can circa 1975-1976. According to the label, it holds 8,734,902 fluid ounces of brew, enough to fill eight swimming pools; located on private property southwest of town, on the southeast corner of Hwys. 22 and 96; roadside attraction.
Oldest continuous-operation store in Arkansas, established in 1890. The building has the original floors, walls, and ceiling. Inventory includes groceries, convenience items, picnic and camping supplies; hunting and fishing licenses; game check station. The Cafe features home cooking; open daily serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Three authentic historic railroad cabooses that have been restored and converted to luxury lodging; reproduction depot also available. Cabooses have kitchenettes, showers, living area, queen beds, private drives, outdoor hot tubs on large decks, patio furniture, grills, hammocks. Depot has full kitchen, living room, dining area, fireplace, Jacuzzi, and hot tub on the deck. Can accommodate 10 people total.
Possibly the most recognizable "unique" dining facility in Arkansas, this roadside oddity was built in 1966, inspired by a giant orange restaurant in Fresno, CA circa 1950s. The menu features hamburgers, hot dogs, chili dogs, salad bar and dinner specials.
Features whole wheat ground on a 100-year-old gristmill that is used to make handcrafted American hearth breads and crusty European breads. Breakfast features French toast and pastries; lunch includes hot and cold sandwiches, focaccia pizzas, homemade soups and salads; dinner menu is expanded to include pasta. Ozark Mountain Smokehouse meats and cheeses used, Gourmet coffee, tea and espresso drinks available.
Rare even when it was built, this priceless antiquity is now even rarer in that it is the only one still in existence in the world. The Over the Jumps, also called the Arkansas Carousel, has been fully restored and is at the Little Rock Zoo. It was constructed in 1924 as a traveling carousel by the Herschell-Spillman Engineering Corporation of North Tonawanda, NY. Very few were constructed to begin with and, even though they were extremely popular with the public, the undulating track carousels had mechanical problems and often spent as much time being repaired as operating. Officials with the Herschell Carrousel (sic) Factory Museum in North Tonawanda, New York, believe less than 10 of the “over-the-jumps” rides were constructed with the Arkansas Carousel being the only one left.
Located in the parsonage of the Marion Baptist Church; "sustainable” chef John T. Myers, formerly of Memphis, offers sandwiches on herbed flatbread, cheddar, rye or croissant with a choice of chips, “couscous carnival,” roasted garden vegetables or “preachers pasta salad,” plus green salad combinations and baked goods. Casseroles and sides available for take-out.
The town mascot is a 12-ft. tall Raven statue made of cement stucco, coated with flame-retardant paint, flanked by an American and Arkansas flag; The base of the statue has this inscription. "The raven was the first bird sent from the ark in search of land," and "the raven has the reputation for divine or magical powers." -
Of all the colleges and universities in America, the University of Arkansas is the only one that has a Razorback as its mascot. The athletic teams were originally called the Cardinals. After a hard-fought victory over LSU in 1909, Coach Hugo Bezdek said the team played "like a wild band of Razorback hogs." The students loved it and the rest is history. The "hog call" is the only such cheer in the U.S. as well. Several statues are found around campus, including one in The Commons tailgating area. One of fighting hogs dedicated in honor of longtime coach and athletic director Frank Broyles is located on the plaza outside the Broyles center at the north end of Razorback Stadium.
Started by the Class of 1906, Senior Walk contains the names of graduates, beginning with the first class in 1876; the original class is inscribed at the foot of Old Main steps. It is a unique tradition among American colleges and universities, covering over five miles of paved walks throughout the campus. Originally stamped by hand, the names are now etched by a machine known as the Senior Sand Hog, invented in 1986 by University Physical Plant employees. Over 140,000 graduates are now listed. The tradition is as unique as the Hog Call, as there is nothing like it at any other college in the world.
Swiss-German and other European cuisine served by candlelight. Located in the original wine cellar which was hand-dug by Johann Andreas Wiederkehr in 1880 which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places; menu includes Swiss Cheese Fondue, Italian pasta dishes, Matterhorn Schnitzel, chicken, lobster, fish, and steaks; desserts include apple strudel, Black Forest cherry cake, caramel custard, ice cream, and cheesecake.