Hanzlik, Trevino to be inducted into Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame

View photos here.

Marcel Hanzlik and Karen Trevino will be inducted into the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame during a noon luncheon on Feb. 26 during the 50th annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism. The conference will be held in Jonesboro on Feb. 25-27, 2024.

The Hall of Fame honor is presented annually to an individual or individuals who have been actively involved in tourism for many years and who have made substantial contributions to the betterment of the industry as a whole.

Marcel Hanzlik

Born in Hempstead, Long Island, New York in 1955 to Steve and Erika Hanzlik, Marcel Hanzlik graduated from Hot Springs High School in 1972. He went on to study higher education at Arkansas State University, receiving a BS in Wildlife Management in 1976. After college, he worked as a journeyman carpenter until 1981, when he was hired by Crater of Diamonds State Park in Mufreesboro. He served as a ranger within Arkansas State Parks until 1991 at which point he was promoted to Region 3 Supervisor to oversee the operations and management of 13 parks in eastern Arkansas. Hanzlik had a distinguished career within Arkansas State Parks for 39 years and 10 months, retiring in June of 2020. 

In addition to his work with Arkansas State Parks, Hanzlik has dedicated himself to promoting Arkansas and the Delta region by volunteering for numerous organizations. For 32 years he has been a member of the Arkansas Delta Byways Tourism Association, which promotes tourism for 15 counties in eastern Arkansas. Hanzlik was the first president when the organization was formed in 1993. He took back the position in 2002, guiding the organization until he resigned in July 2023.  He is still an active board member to this day. 

Hanzlik received the Arkansas Delta Byways Outstanding Member award in 2012 and was named the Arkansas Delta Byways Tourism Person of the Year in 2022. Under his leadership, Arkansas Delta Byways has received several awards at the Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism, the latest being the Region of the Year award in 2022.

His proudest accomplishments include working to help pass Amendment 75, which established the 1/8th-Cent Conservation Sales Tax in 1996, and helping receive National Scenic Byways status for Crowley’s Ridge Parkway in 1998 and the Great River Road in 2002. 

Hanzlik has been an Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Volunteer Hunter’s Education Instructor since 1993. He also serves as an American Red Cross Volunteer CPR and First Aid Instructor, an American Canoe Association kayak instructor, and has served on the board and as president of the Crowley’s Ridge Country Club.

Hanzlik has contributed to Arkansas' tourism industry by delivering presentations to civic groups such as Rotary, Jaycees, and chambers of commerce throughout the Delta. He promoted Arkansas State Parks at numerous annual trade and travel shows, both in-state and out-of-state, during his decades-long career.

His hobbies include golfing, hunting, fishing, kayaking, hiking, pickleball, shuffleboard and playing pool. 

Hanzlik’s 39-plus years of work within Arkansas State Parks, as well as his continued dedication to promoting the state, improving economic growth, and showing pride in The Natural State, has garnered him a well-deserved place in the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame.

Karen Trevino

Born Dec. 1 in Russellville, Arkansas to John and Alice Moats Jobe, Trevino graduated from Cabot High School in 1977. She received a Master of Arts in Tourism Planning and Development from California University in 2010, graduating Summa Cum Laude. She received a Bachelor of Science from John Brown University in 2003, graduating Magna Cum Laude. Trevino has earned several travel industry certifications over the years: Certified Diversity Travel Professional, Certified Culinary Travel Professional, Certified Travel Industry Specialist and Certified Tourism Marketing Professional.

Trevino has been the president and CEO of the North Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau (NLRCVB) since July 2003. During that time she also served a brief stint as the Senior Vice President and COO of the NLRCVB from July 2019 to December 2020. Prior to that, she held positions such as administrator of the Arkansas Tourism Development Foundation, owner/business manager of Studio One Dance in North Little Rock, hospitality and tourism instructor of the Arkansas Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Institute of Pulaski Tech College in Little Rock, director of operations for the Arkansas Hospitality Association (AHA), group travel consultant for the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, and assistant director of the North Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau.

Over the years, Trevino has served on a long list of public and private committees and has held board roles over the years as well, including at: Argenta Community Theater, Argenta Downtown Council, Arkansas Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus, Arkansas Dance Network, Arkansas Festivals and Events Association, Arkansas Hospitality Association, Arkansas River Cities Sports Commission, Arkansas Tourism Development Foundation, Arkansas Travel Council, Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Institute Advisory Board, Heart of Arkansas Tourist Association, Junior League of North Little Rock, North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce, Pulaski Technical College, Riverfest, 600 Main POA, Southeast Tourism Society, Skål International Arkansas, Skål International USA and the Susan Komen Runway for the Cure.

Arkansas Money & Politics magazine named her among its Power Women in 2022 and 2023. AY Magazine named her among its Intriguing Women in 2019. Awards received include the Silver Cup for Tourism from AHA, Tourism Person of the Year from the Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism, State Management Award from Arkansas Business and Professional Women, Spirit of Skål award from Skål International Arkansas, Hospitality Hall of Fame from AHA, President’s Award from Central Arkansas Chapter of AHA, Shining Example Award-CVB of the Year from Southeast Tourism Society, J. Dan Baker Award from Seal International Arkansas, Silver Cup Award from Central Arkansas Chapter AHA and the Sustainer of the Year award from the Junior League of North Little Rock. 

Trevino’s accomplishments and volunteerism have made a positive difference in the Arkansas tourism industry earning her a place in Arkansas’ Tourism Hall of Fame.

For information on the Hall of Fame Awards, contact Kristine Puckett at 501-682-1088.

For information on the 50th annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism or to register to attend, contact Renee Cook at 501-682-1088 or visit ArkansasGovernorsConference.com.


Arkansas Tourism
Arkansas Tourism, a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism, strives to expand the economic impact of travel and tourism in the state and enhance the quality of life for all Arkansans. The division manages 14 Arkansas Welcome Centers and employs more than 60 staff members across The Natural State. For more information, visit www.arkansas.com.

Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism
The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism.

Submitted by the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage & Tourism
One Capitol Mall, Little Rock, AR 72201, 501-682-7606
E-mail: [email protected]

May be used without permission. Credit line is appreciated:
"Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism"